Time Traveling…

Standard

I admit it –  I am a fan of time traveling stories. (I originally typed “I’m a huge fan of time travel,” then realized I have not ever once time traveled in my life, although I am an avid traveler from place to place in real time.) I love the BBC television series Doctor Who  – introduced to me for the first time by my adult step-son, reintroduced by him to his dad, and I am a fan of Rumiko Takahashi’s Inuyasha anime/manga series.

I am very excited to learn that author Greg Leitich Smith has a new book coming out next year that involves time travel!

This is the summary of Chronal Engine (Clarion Books/March 2012) taken from Greg’s web site:

When Max, Emma, and Kyle are sent to live with their reclusive grandfather for the summer, they’re dismayed to learn he thinks there’s a time machine in the basement.

But when Grandpa Pierson predicts the exact time of his own heart attack, and when Emma is kidnapped by what can only be a time traveler, they realize he was telling the truth about the Chronal Engine.  And if they want their sister back, they’ll have to do it themselves.

So Max and Kyle, together with their new friend Petra, pack up their grandpa’s VW and follow Emma and the kidnapper back in time, to Late Cretaceous Texas, where the sauropods and tyrannosaurs roam.  Can the trio find Emma and survive the hazards of the Age of Dinosaurs, or are they, too, destined to become part of the fossil record?

Sounds intriguing, doesn’t it?  I loved Greg’s other middle grade books, Ninjas, Piranhas, and Galileo (Little, Brown/2003) and Tofu and T. Rex (Little, Brown/2005), so I suspect I’ll love this one, too!

I do wish I were able to time travel to the future to March 2012 so I wouldn’t have to wait to read this one!  Something to look forward to, for sure!

Leave a Reply

