A Reading Rave: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Standard

I was thrilled to learn that The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater recently won a Michael L. Printz honor (an award for excellence in literature for young adults)!  Not only because it was a fantastic read, but because I was almost done reading it before the awards were announced. Hey! I was ahead of the “official” news that The Scorpio Races is an outstanding book!

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic/2011)

I purchased this book a couple of weeks ago after a friend with whom I share reading tastes raved about it to me.  She was not wrong in telling me I’d love it. I did! In fact, I so loved it that I could have finished reading it days prior but I wanted to drag it out longer, I needed to be able to stay with the characters and their story for longer. I didn’t want it to end!

On the island of Thisby, the Scorpio Races are held every November. And every November men die. These are not ordinary horse races on the beach. The horses are the capaill uisce, mysterious man-eating horses from the sea. Thisby men capture and train them for the race, both man and creature in danger of injury or death as the capaill uisce long to be back in the sea. Nobody knows this better than Sean Kendrick, who trains and works for the successful stable on the island. He and the beloved capaill uisce Corr have won the race four times over – and Sean wants badly to be able to own Corr. The two belong together. Puck (Kate) Connolly has never wanted anything to do with the races (having lost her parents to the capaill uisce), but when circumstances force her, she decides to break all unspoken rules and enter the race. The result is a tension-filled story, part adventure, part love, that has the reader rooting hard for Sean and Puck. Outstanding page turner that made me both laugh out loud and cry!

4 responses »

  1. I actually won this book before it came out from the beautiful Maggie herself. She even doodled a horse in it! It is now my prized possession. I loved it so much. It is so beautifuly different. Such a fantastic read. I think it’s almost time to read it again.

  2. I loved this book and was also thrilled to see that it won recognition at ALA. I’m so glad that you loved it too! Lucky Leigh for winning a signed copy!!!

Leave a Reply

