My Towering Pile of Books

Standard

Now that I’m finished with a major revision of my work-in-progress and now that it’s off to my writing partners for comment and critique, I have much more time left over for reading! Hooray! Here are the books I hope to dive into this month:

Bitterblue by Kirstin Cashore

I loved Graceling!

Until I Die by Amy Plum

I loved Die For Me (which I read on my flight to Paris last year and ended up, by accident, eating lunch at a restaurant mentioned in the book- La Palette!)

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

I loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour (see a theme here?). I’m a huge fan of contemporary YA, especially those with romance storylines.

bird by bird by Anne Lamott

I reread this book at least once a year, if not more often. Lamott offers great inspiration and motivation for my writing life in this fantastic book! A must-read for all writers!

The Plot Whisperer: Secrets of Story Structure Any Writer Can Master by Martha Alderson

Between every project and almost every draft of a WIP, I either reread a writing craft book or read a new one. This time, I’m reading a new one. Many friends have recommended Alderson’s Plot Whisperer blog and videos. I tried watching the videos, which are quite good, but I like to read information versus watch/listen – I absorb it better.

Paris My Sweet by Amy Thomas

An adult memoir touted as “part love letter to Paris, part love letter to New York, and total devotion to all things sweet…” – Two cities I adore and yes, I love sweets! Sounds like a perfect read for me!

See You At Harry’s by Jo Knowles

Happy PUB day to Jo Knowles for See You At Harry’s! I’ve already read this amazing book, but I plan to read it yet again and again. I am a huge fan of all of Jo’s books. Yes, she’s a good friend and one of my writing partners, but even so, I’d be a big fan! Love her writing! Come back next week to see my Spotlight on this book and on Jo! (and a chance to win a signed copy!)

I have no doubt I’ll be adding other books to my list in the coming weeks. I’d better get to the books! :) Happy reading!

What’s on your pile?

4 responses »

  1. May is a killer month- so many great reads! I’ve been wanting to read See You at Harry’s ever since you first mentioned it. And that’s so fun you ate lunch at La Palette when you were reading Die for Me.

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Second Chance Summer. My daughter won’t let me read it until she’s read it first :)

Leave a Reply

