Really Great Reads

Standard

I read two books recently that I just have to share with you!

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman (Knopf/2012)

“I should probably start with the blood.” This is the book’s opening line. With this mesmerizing opening, the reader is drawn into Nora’s world. As a high school senior, she is working at the local college as an intern, persuaded by her best friend Chris who attends the college. Together, along with another college intern, Max, they translate a mysterious text, trying to break a centuries old code. When Nora stumbles onto something important, everything changes. There’s a murder, Max disappears, Nora’s other best friend and Chris’s girlfriend goes catatonic. Nora is drawn into the mystery and then there seems to be no way out. From the quiet town where she lives to Paris and then Prague, Nora is desperate to discover the truth behind the mystery and possibly save her and her friends’ lives.

I am afraid to go more into detail because this is one of those stories that could be spoiled by too much detail. The characters are amazing, the story unforgettable. I could not put this book down!  If you like intrigue and are not put off by blood, I highly recommend this book!

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson (Simon & Schuster/2012)

When 17yo Taylor learns devastating news about her father, the family decides to return to their summer lake house to spend summer together. Taylor is filled with dread at returning there. When things get tough, she usually runs away, and when she ran away from the lake house five years ago, she didn’t think she’d have to return to face her first boyfriend, Henry, and her then best friend Lucy. When she does come face-to-face with them, she has to face her past. As she comes to terms with her past, she also needs to confront the present and deal with her family’s issues. But, maybe, just maybe, Taylor will get a second chance, with her family, her best friend, and love.

A totally different type of story than the first book I mention, but just as worthy a read. I was swept away by Taylor and her predicament and how she deals with things that scare her. I cried at the end. And I’d read it again! Morgan Matson is quickly becoming a favorite author. I’ve missed reading contemporary stories just like this one! (Thanks to Lucy of The Reading Date for introducing me to this author’s books!)

This summer I will have plenty of reading time. I’m excited to share more great books with you! Please share your favorites with me! Thanks!

8 responses »

  1. Thanks for the recommendations. The second one looks like something I might like. I just read See You at Harry’s on your rec and enjoyed it.

  2. Fabulous reviews. The Book of Blood and Shadow sounds really intriguing and that is a great first line. Glad you enjoyed Matson’s latest- I love books that you want to re-read and that make you cry. I’ve been trying to avoid reviews until I read SCS but I can’t help it :) So many awesome contemporary books are coming out – it’s going to be a great summer!

Leave a Reply

