My Summer Reading List

Standard

Summer is officially here! Even though I read throughout the year, summer brings to mind long leisurely days of reading. Ah, if only this were true. I would love a full 8 weeks of reading, of losing myself in story! Here are some of the books I hope to read this summer:

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (adult fiction) – I’ve long wanted to read one of Ann Patchett’s novels. A good friend with whom I share reading tastes raves about this one.

A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley (adult mystery) – I became a fan of the Flavia de Luce series after I read the first in the series and then remained a fan with the second. I’ve fallen behind and can’t wait to catch up. I mean, who can’t love an 11-year-old girl who is fascinated by chemistry and is able to solve mysteries the local small town police can’t? And it’s set in England, so a plus for me!

The Princess of Iowa by M. Molly Backes (YA fiction) – This cover and title caught my eye while browsing at a bookstore, recently. It’s about a teen girl who loses her friends and identity after a tragedy, and finds solace in a creative writing class. The reviews (which I didn’t read in full because I hate spoilers and I like to make my own decision without being influenced by complete strangers) state that this is a debut novel. Intriguing! So happy to see more contemporary YA!

Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham (YA fiction)- Another book that caught my eye while browsing at the bookstore. What is says on the cover: 1 Concert, 2000 Miles, 3 Ex-Best Friends. That hooked me enough to put this book on my list. I have a growing fondness for road trip books (see In Honor by Jessi Kirby and Amy & Rogers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson).

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick (YA fiction)- Saw this book on The Reading Date, one of my new fave blogs to get reading recommendations. Lucy says the book is about first love and family. My favorite kind of story!

The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour (YA fiction) – Another recommendation from Lucy over at The Reading Date – road trip, girl band, male POV.

I’ll continue adding books to this list and no doubt I won’t get through all of them this summer, but I will definitely attempt it! What books are on YOUR summer reading list? I want to know! Happy reading!

18 responses »

  1. Yes! Bel Canto is wonderful, as is her latest (State of Wonder).
    And the YA pile looks terrific, can’t wait to hear what you think of them…

    LOVE summer reading!! lemonade, a hammock, a good book… ok, don’t even need the first 2 to be happy…

  2. I just finished reading Bel Canto and I loved it. Currently, I’m reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. I’m 100 pages in and can’t wait to find time to read more. Enjoy your summer!

  3. Another YES for Bel Canto. Besides thoroughly loving this reading experience, I learned so much about writing from this one especially how it’s possible to reveal a spoiler early on and make it work for the good of the book. I read it about 8 years ago, and it’s still stuck with me.

  4. What a great looking list. I’ve also been dying to read Bel Canto and now you’ve really got me excited about it. The Alan Bradley book also sounds great — of course the British setting got my attention right away. :)

  5. I’ve been wondering what to read next-thanks for some suggestions to add to my summer to-read list! The only one Ive read is Bel Canto–loved it and think I may reread it soon. XO Sharry

  6. Thanks for the link love <3 Looks like you are in for an awesome summer of reading. And I love that your family has daily scheduled reading time together. Crossing fingers that you enjoy The Disenchantments and My Life Next Door.

    The Princesses of Iowa sounds awesome too- adding it to my list. Yay for contemporary YA!

    I have the first book in the Flavia de Luce series but haven't read it yet. Hearing it's one of your faves makes me want to bump it up the list.

    Hope you have many wonderful summer reading adventures!

Leave a Reply

