Good Read! 52 Reasons To Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

Standard

If I were more clever I’d post 52 reasons why I so enjoy Jessica Brody’s books, but alas, I’m not so clever. ;)

I recently read this book:

52 Reasons To Hate My Father by Jessica Brody (Farrar Straus Giroux/2012)

Lexington Larrabee is the stereotypical spoiled rich daughter of a multimillionaire media mogul and expects to receive her $25 million trust fund when she turns 18, just as her four older brothers had. After she crashes her new Mercedes into a convenience store, drunk, her entire world changes. Her father withholds her trust and to earn it she must successfully complete 52 menial jobs (one a week for a year) and report to his college intern lackey, Luke. Lexi is mortified and the jobs are HARD, especially when she’s never had to do a thing for herself her entire life.

Jessica Brody takes a character who would be easy to hate, and makes her sympathetic to the readers by making it very clear from the outset that all Lexi wants is the love and attention of her too-distant too-busy father.  I loved the scenes involving Lexi and a new job – and I laughed out loud when she had to Google how to turn on a vacuum cleaner at her first job as a maid. The story is filled with humor and emotion, and I was rooting for Lexi the entire time! Great, fast-paced, fun read!

I read Jessica’s previous novel, My Life Undecided, and thoroughly enjoyed that one, too. Jessica does a fun thing and plants “Easter eggs” in her stories – I caught the reference to My Life Undecided while reading 52 Reasons.

What are you reading that you’re enjoying these days?

4 responses »

  1. I have been wanting to read this one ever since I first heard about it. Your review makes me more excited to read it! It just sounds really funny.

Leave a Reply

