Good Read! Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Standard

I’m on a roll here, reading really good books! I just finished Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead.Random House/2012

When 7th grader Georges has to move from a house to an apartment because his dad got laid off, he tries hard to adjust. He hardly ever sees his mother because she has to work double shifts as a nurse at the hospital – they end up communicating by Scrabble tiles. He joins The Spy Club at the building – it’s just him and a boy named Safer who doesn’t go to school and has bohemian parents. Safer tutors him on spying as they try to unravel a mystery of Mr. X in the building.

This story is SO much more than that – but I would give away too much. The story feels genuine – and has great moments of middle grade humor. I’m don’t typically pick up middle grade books, particularly with boy main characters, but too many friends have raved about this one – and I loved Rebecca’s other two books (First Light and When You Reach Me) that I had to read this one. I’m so glad I did!

Now, what do I read next….? :)

Happy reading!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

