Baby Lit

Standard

My main focus for this blog is middle grade and young adult fiction, but sometimes another kind of book catches my attention.  When my daughter was an infant, I loved reading her board books – they were easy to hold while cradling her in my arms, and I didn’t worry about her ripping pages. As she got older, she loved carrying around and “reading” the board books. I have a special place in my heart for these kind of books, but I admit, i don’t look at them much anymore.

While at one of my favorite indie book stores, I saw this sitting on the counter:

Pride and Prejudice: a counting primer by Jennifer Adams (illustrated by Alison Oliver).  As a fan of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice, I had to check it out. And after I did, I had to buy it! (I gifted it to a very good friend who is a much bigger Austen fan.)

The book counts from 1 English village through 4 marriage proposals to a fun number 10. I don’t want to give away the entire book because part of the joy was discovering each page.  The artwork is fun and inviting.

If you’re not a fan of Pride & Prejudice (gasp!), there is one other Baby Lit board book by the same duo: Romeo and Juliet! I haven’t seen this one yet, but will keep a look out for it!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

