Your Turn

Standard

I’d love to hear what books you love. What books are on your pile of “to read”? What books do you reread regularly? What book are you most looking forward to reading? What books do your kids love? And if you’re an author, what book of yours is coming out soon?

One of my favorite things to do is go to a book store and browse at my leisure.

Here I am in a Tokyo book store, browsing manga!

Although I don’t like to judge a book by its cover, the cover (and the title) often prompt me to pick up a book to give it a try.  But, my favorite way to discover a book is through recommendations from people like you and by reading book buzz on blogs and other online sources.

Please share your long list of loves, wants, and to-be-published!  I will share a compiled list in the near future.  Next week, I’ll share what books I have on my “to read” pile!

Happy reading!

10 responses »

  1. My TBR list is a tad food focused (surprise!): Molly O’Neill’s American Food Writing, Bemelman’s La Bonne Table, Laura Schaefer’s Secret Ingredient, Sara Varon’s Bake Sale. I just started Sprinkles and Secrets by Lisa Schroeder — finally getting around to it!

    As for books I like to reread, on my Kindle I have Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice. Since I’ve visited where the Brontes and Austen lived, these books are very special to me.

    On my radar for future Kindle purchases: Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt, Anna and the French Kiss (per your recommendation), the most recent Penderwicks and Gooney Bird Greene books. I already have Jo’s Pearl on my Kindle, but haven’t gotten to it yet. Sooo much to look forward to.

  2. Ooh! The Aviary looks great! I moderate a sixth grade Mother/Daughter book club and am always looking for the perfect book for these girls. Some of my favorite MG reads are Diamond Willow by Helen Frost, Saffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay ( I love all of The Casson Family series!) Okay For Now by Gary Schmitz, The Saturdays by Elizabeth Enright ( published in 1941!) and Plain Kate by Erin Bow. We’re currently reading Sharon Draper’s Out Of My Mind which is going to give the girls a lot to think and talk about.

  3. Too many books are on my TBR pile: Daniel Nayeri’s Straw House, Wood House, Brick House, Blow!; Cinda Chima’s Grey Wolf Throne; Tracy Barrett’s Dark of the Moon; Kenneth Oppel’s Airborn trilogy; Higgins’s Moonshadow 2: The Nightmare Ninja; Higgins’s The Lunatic’s Curse; Edwardson’s My Name is Not Easy; and far too many others. I just finished Westerfeld’s Leviathan trilogy and Lyga’s Mangaman, both terrific.

  4. I’ve been having an ARC fest — Meg Medina’s THE GIRL WHO COULD SILENCE THE WIND (very other worldly and beautiful), Rebecca Hogue Wojahn’s MALCOLM AT MIDNIGHT (SO clever for young readers, this is going to be a winner), and now Kami Kinard’s THE BOY PROJECT (such great humor, I am cracking up and I’ve barely started). Oh, and I got my first ARC with a blurb of mine on the back — Beth Kephart’s SMALL DAMAGES. I feel so lucky!

Leave a Reply

