Teen Favorites – Part 1

Standard

Last week I shared some of my recent favorite reads.  To continue the trend, I took an informal poll and asked a few teen readers about their favorites. I enjoyed their responses and will share them with you over the next few posts.  Please feel free to share in the comments your favorite reads! (I highly encourage it!)

Sam, age 17

Favorite book of the year and why: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Other than being thoroughly well-written and genuinely funny, Looking for Alaska embodies a sort of sensation impossible to describe in anything less than 250 pages. John Green has a way of writing that so completely delineates each character, you struggle not to relate to each in a very different way. And, though the plot is simple, he contributes so much to each novel that it would be difficult not to learn something. His style of writing is both highly sophisticated and almost colloquial, transforming the novel to more of a means by which to experience something rather than a thing to read.

Elise, age 16

Favorite book from the last few years and why: Me & Emma by Elizabeth Flock

I read it a few years back and it really stuck with me. There was a crazy twist at the end that made it memorable.

Liz, age 17

Favorite book from childhood and why: Chicken Soup and Rice by Maurice Sendak

I dont know why. I probably liked the way my dad read it. It made me really crave chicken soup, anyways.

Samantha, age 16

Favorite book from the last few years and why: The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

Hale was my favorite author in middle school. She writes fantasy, but the way she does it makes you forget that these fantastical elements can’t actually happen. She is also a brilliant story teller, and I fell in love with the world and the characters of this book.

Ben, age 17

Favorite book from the last few years and why: Airman by Eoin Colfer

It’s my absolute favorite book. It’s kinda like The Count of Monte Cristo combined with the Wright brothers. It’s adventurous.

More to come on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

