Wanted!

Standard

The Heroine’s Bookshelf: Life Lessons from Jane Austen to Laura Ingalls Wilder by Erin Blakemore

I first saw this book sitting on a table at a book store, perhaps months ago, or maybe just weeks ago. Time is a blur, these days. I didn’t buy it then and forgot about it – until I came across it on someone’s blog. (Yes, I’m a very bad person and can’t remember whose blog I saw it on! Sorry!) I wish I could link to that post because what the blogger said about this book made me want to read it immediately.

Here’s what the author’s site says about it:

Jo March, Scarlett O’Hara, Scout Finch—the literary canon is brimming with  intelligent,  feisty, never-say-die heroines and celebrated female authors. Like today’s women, they placed a premium on personality, spirituality, career, sisterhood, and family. When they were up against the wall, authors like Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott fought back—sometimes with words, sometimes with gritty actions. In this witty, informative, and  inspiring read, their stories offer much-needed literary intervention to modern women.

The Heroine’s Bookshelf was released by Harper on October 19, 2010.  Lauded as everything from “a frothy literary latte” to “like having a friend with you on your literary journey,” the book has been featured in the New York Times, The Washington Post, Ms. Magazine, The Denver Post, and more. The Heroine’s Bookshelf won the 2010 Colorado Book Award in the Nonfiction: General Category.

—-

Oh boy! Right? I hope to get this book and read it (my To Be Read Pile is growing very very large) and share my comments in the near future. In the meantime, what female literary heroines do you have from your childhood? Authors? Characters?  Judy Blume comes to my mind, as well as Madeleine L’Engle. Characters –  Jo March. Meg Murry, Laura Ingalls, Kit Tyler, Elizabeth Bennet. I’m sure I’ll think of a ton more after I hit “publish”. Looking forward to hearing yours!

EDITED TO ADD: Hmmmm…I should change the title of my post to “Wanted! And Received!” Hours after writing this post, I found myself at one of my favorite indie bookstores, Books Inc. Of course, they had a copy of the above book. Of course, I bought it! Can’t wait to read it!

4 responses »

  1. ANNE SHIRLeY!!! And by extention Lucy Maud Montgomery. I could read those books once a month for the rest of my life and never get tired of them. Such great characters and I would have to add Marilla and Mrs. Rachel Lynd too.
    Jane Eyre, Elizabeth Bennet, and Fanny Price.

  2. Oh, that book sounds soooooo good! Must put it on my list :).

    Literary heroines: Jo March, Anne Shirley, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Ramona Quimby, Jane Eyre, Sara Crewe, Judy Moody :).

Leave a Reply

