Crawling Out of The Slump

Standard

Thank you for the kind words and the reading recommendations. After two more false starts with books I couldn’t get into, I finally found one!

A few years ago, I read the incredible The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafrón (adult fiction).

Set in 1945 Barcelona, this is a story that involves a Cemetery of Forgotten books, a bookseller’s son and the book he’s sworn to protect, and a mystery involving someone’s quest to destroy all copies of said book. Oh, and there’s a love story, too. The writing is amazing and mesmerizing, gripping and haunting. I loved that book!

Unbeknownst to me, the author subsequently wrote a prequel and another book for the series! WHAT? Why hadn’t I known this????

Last week I bought The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafrón and dove in.

As with the other books I attempted to read, I was drawn in, but unlike the other books I attempted to read, this one kept my attention. Not only that, but I can’t wait to pick it up and continue reading. It feels SO good to anticipate reading a book, to want to read, again! I’m happy! Relieved! Joyful! I’m almost halfway through the book and once I finish, I look forward to reading the third in the series.
And feeling brave with this renewed zest for reading, I bought two more books over the weekend:

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver (adult fiction). Barbara Kingsolver is one of my all-time favorite authors. I’ve read and own all her books and have been anticipating this one greatly. I hope to dive in after I finish The Angel’s Game.
And not to neglect the genre I so love, I bought a YA novel, too.

Endangered by Eliot Schrefer. A good friend with whom I share reading tastes highly recommended this one to me – and it appeals to the zoologist in me. Check out this partial Goodreads summary: The compelling tale of a girl who must save a group of bonobos–and herself–from a violent coup. The Congo is a dangerous place, even for people who are trying to do good.

I feel like I’m back to myself, back to reading, back to losing myself in story! That means I should be posting here more frequently and regularly again! Thanks for your patience! Happy reading!

11 responses »

    • Thanks! 🙂 Did you get a chance to read the other two in the “series”? I’m almost halfway through Angel’s Game and enjoying it! (Although there’s a “creep” factor that keeps me from reading it at night.)

      • I haven’t, just as shocked as you were to find out there were even others in the series! Rest assured I am going to get them! 😀

  1. Wow. The Shadow of the Wind sounds beautiful. I’ll definitely be adding it to the precariously stacked mountain that is my TBR pile. Thanks, Deb!

  2. Yay, glad you found some books that grabbed your attention 🙂 The Shadow of The Wind does sound great. And I’ll have to try a Kingsolver book sometime. Thanks for sharing your recs!

Leave a Reply

