Teen and Kid Favorites, Pt 1

Standard

I’m pleased to bring back Teen Favorites just in time for holiday shopping! I’m including younger readers in this year’s survey. If you, your child, or grandchild would like to chime in, please do so in the comments. I’ll keep this series running for the next couple of weeks. Thanks to all the teen/kid book lovers who participated!  The question was: What was the best book you read this year and why?

Laura, age 13:

Fever by Laurie Halse Anderson

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  Because it’s historical and I love history and it’s a good plot!

Max, age 3:

Everything Goes Up In The Air by Brian Biggs

(Max’s mother answered for him – no doubt a mom of a toddler knows which is his favorite!)

Emily O., age 17:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  It might just be because it’s the most recent book I’ve read. but it really draws you in, and doesn’t have a really depressing ending like a lot of other books.

Ben, age 18:

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  It was insightful and unique. I enjoyed being able to interpret it how I liked.

Jasmine, age 17:

Hannibal by Thomas Harris

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  It was a thriller, very character oriented, and I liked the suspense.

Abby, age 18:

The Thieves of Darkness by Richard Doetsch

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  Thrilling, but also managed to make me laugh.

Meg, age 13:

Lessons From A Dead Girl by Jo Knowles

Why is this your favorite book of the year?  Because I couldn’t put it down.

Stayed tuned for more teen and kid favorites! And please share yours in the comments. Happy reading and happy shopping!

8 responses »

  1. Great choices! My 4 year old can’t get enough of Fancy Nancy’s Splendiferous Christmas, and she chooses poems from Shel Silverstein’s EVERYTHING ON IT at least three times a week at bedtime.

    The baby loves Eric Carle’s BROWN BEAR, BROWN BEAR so much he’s destroyed two copies of it already!

  2. Great recs! I’m shopping for books for my nephews in the tween-early teen age group. Probably too young for Perks of Being a Wallflower, though my daughter and I loved it. I really need to read a Jo Knowles book sometime soon. Unputdownable books are the best!

    • They probably already read the Rick Riordan series? I’m not that helpful when it comes to tween boy books, alas. How about Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead? Definitely, you should read a Jo Knowles book! 🙂

  3. My sixth grade Mother Daughter Bookclub all LOVED Jo Knowles SEE YOU AT HARRY”S (one of the girls said, it makes me SO mad that people like Stphanie Meyers are famous and Jo Knowles isn’t!) My third grade group loved Lois Lowry’s GOSSAMER (one of my all time favorites, too)

  4. I really enjoyed seeing what all their choices were; I’m definitely going to have to read Life of Pi! 🙂 I love Carl Hiaasen’s middle grade books, they’re always so fun, quirky, and about wildlife; I love recommending them!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

Leave a Reply

