Teen and Kid Favorites, Pt 2

Standard

Welcome back to part 2 of Teen and Kid Favorites – just in time for holiday shopping! Thank you to all the kids and teens who participated! I greatly appreciate it!

The question this year: What was your favorite book of the year and why?

Daegen, age 12:

The Warriors series by Erin Hunter

Why is this your favorite book this year? I’m reading the series for the third time. I own all the books.

Caitlin, age 17:

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Why is this your favorite book this year?  I’m usually not one for the classics–the old writing is always so hard to follow–but this was the exception to the rule. It was a fantastic story with a whole bunch of tragic backstory, and characters that I kind of loved to hate (or maybe I hated that I loved them). It was just really edgy and cool, for 19th century England.

Kalani, age 4:

Because Your Daddy Loves You by Andrew Clements

Why is this your favorite book this year? Because my daddy loves me.

Sofi, age 11:

The Evolution of Calpernia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

Why is this your favorite book this year?  I loved this book because it was about a girl like me and I can easily relate to her which made it fun. Also, I loved the adventures the main character has with her Grandpa. There were quotes at each chapter that I loved!!!

Samantha, age 17:

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

Why is this your favorite book this year? Because it’s brilliant. Just absolutely, breathtakingly brilliant.

Amanda, age 14:

Hush, Hush (and sequels) by Becca Fitzpatrick

Why is this your favorite book this year?  Because they’re creepy.

Erlan and Ainyr, ages 8

Starry River of the Sky by Grace Lin

180067979

Why is this your favorite book this year?  Because we love everything Grace Lin writes! (And our mom loved reading it out loud to us.)

Stayed tuned for part 3, coming Thursday! Let me know what you’re favorite read was this year! Thanks for coming by!

4 responses »

  1. So many good books! These kids and teens have great taste. I added Starry River of the Sky to my TBR- it looks so cute. And Sofi sold me on Calpernia Tate. My daughter and her friends loved the Warriors series, it’s really popular with tweens. Thanks for all the great gift ideas!

Leave a Reply

