In Love

Standard

Bob and I just bought a house – one we love! It has great character and warmth, originally built in the early 1800s and lovingly renovated less than a decade ago by the current owners. It has everything we could want – a great kitchen and garden for Bob (he’s the resident chef and “farmer”), plenty of room, and it sits right on a pond! And the best thing (for me)? I will be getting my very own writing studio – and I’ll be meeting with an architect this weekend to discuss. The space is currently a wood shop attached to the detached 2 car barn-garage. I am thrilled to be able to create the perfect space – a large writing area, a reading nook, and a small meditation space, all overlooking the pond. I promise before, during and after pictures!

All this to say that I apologize for the less than regular postings. But, I am still reading.

I must share a new author that I love – a writer of adult fiction, a writer talented in penning amazing stories with incredible characters – love stories that are honest, and true, and full of emotion.

Jojo Moyes is fast becoming a new favorite author and I’m already impatient for a new book by her. Her new release is

9780670026609_p0_v1_s260x420Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (Viking/2012)

I wish I could do a proper write up of this novel, because I loved it so much. But as I’ve been pressed for time lately, I’m going to “cheat” and share the summary from Amazon.com:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Because I loved this novel so much, I bought her previous novel and just now, just 5 minutes ago, finished it, amid tears of joy. Loved. It.

9780143121107_p0_v1_s260x420The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes (Penguin Books/2010)

I haven’t had time to write it up yet, but I so loved it that I was compelled to write this post immediately. So here again is the Amazon.com summary:

A Brief Encounter for our time, The Last Letter from Your Lover is a sophisticated, spellbinding double love story that spans decades and thrillingly evokes a bygone era. In 1960, Jennifer Stirling wakes in the hospital and remembers nothing—not the car accident that put her there, not her wealthy husband, not even her own name. Searching for clues, she finds an impassioned letter, signed simply “B,” from a man for whom she seemed willing to risk everything. In 2003, journalist Ellie Haworth stumbles upon the letter and becomes obsessed with learning the unknown lovers’ fate—hoping it will inspire her own happy ending. Remarkably moving, this is a novel for romantics of every age.

I normally save this space to blog about books for children and teens, but these two books are definitely worth sharing here. I’m going to go sit in the dark now and think more about this lovely book and the characters in it – the ones I wish were real and that I could meet.

PS – Oh dear. I just now looked up her web site so I could share a link and have discovered she’s written MANY books. I may  have to buy them all……!

8 responses »

  1. Yay congrats on your new home! It just sounds amazing!

    I have both of these books and can’t wait to read them. In fact, I bought The Last Letter on your recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

