Happy Book Birthday Half A Chance by Cynthia Lord!

Standard

HOORAY! Today is the release date for Cynthia Lord’s newest middle grade novel, Half a Chance!

9780545035330_p0_v2_s260x420

Half A Chance by Cynthia Lord (Scholastic/2014)

From the publisher:

A moving new middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of Rules.

When Lucy’s family moves to an old house on a lake, Lucy tries to see her new home through her camera’s lens, as her father has taught her; he’s a famous photographer, away on a shoot. Will her photos ever meet his high standards? When she discovers that he’s judging a photo contest, Lucy decides to enter anonymously. She wants to find out if her eye for photography is really special, or only good enough.

As she seeks out subjects for her photos, Lucy gets to know Nate, the boy next door. But slowly the camera reveals what Nate doesn’t want to see: his grandmother’s memory is slipping away, and with it much of what he cherishes about his summers on the lake. This summer, Nate will learn about the power of art to show truth. And Lucy will learn how beauty can change lives…including her own.

I was lucky enough to read an early draft of this novel, and so many things have stuck with me – Lucy’s passion for photography, the gorgeous New Hampshire lake setting, new friend Nate and his family, and the gorgeous loons who reside on the lake. I can’t wait to read the novel now that it’s out!

I know for sure you will love this book. And guess what? One lucky person will win a signed copy of Half A Chance! Just comment below by Thursday at midnight EST and I will randomly draw a winner. I only ask that you have a US mailing address. I’ll announce the winner on Tuesday next week.

You can purchase Half A Chance at your favorite indie bookstore or your favorite online source, like Indie Bound.

For more about Cynthia Lord and her amazing books: her web site and her blog.

23 responses »

  1. Does this mean HALF A CHANCE is a Pisces like me? (()) So happy to celebrate Cynthia’s book birthday here with kindred spirits and fans. Mazel tov and I can’t wait to sink my eyes into this story. 😉

  2. This day has finally come. Congratulations. Cindy! Another winner is launched. Bet there are lots of middle grade readers eager to get their hands on a copy of their favorite author’s new books.

  3. I’ve been waiting for this book to come out! Hope Trixie picks me! But of course I’ll be reading it in any case. Congratulations to Cynthia, and thank you Debbi!

  4. I loved seeing my real life friend Mrs. Rigby and her dog Zoe in this book. I know Cindy holds a special place in Mrs. Rigby’s heart and obviously the love is mutual. BTW, hi, Debbi! I sort of checked out from life for a while. I’m pleased to see you and Cindy are living near to each other again.

Leave a Reply

