Welcome to the Spotlight Sarah McGuire and Valiant!

Standard

I’m very happy to welcome debut author Sarah McGuire to the spotlight. I had the pleasure of meeting Sarah at a writing retreat in Vermont. When she read from her manuscript, I had a very strong feeling she’d get it published – and she got an agent and a sale soon after! So thrilling! It is with great joy that I introduce her and her debut novel:

9781606845523_p0_v3_s260x420Valiant by Sarah McGuire (EgmontUSA/2015)

Stayed tuned below for a chance to win this adventurous retelling with a twist of The Brave Little Tailor!

Saville is the daughter of a talented, yet arrogant, tailor. She hates that her father loves bolts of cloth more than her and she despises sewing, though she is gifted at it. When her father falls ill after they arrive at a new town, Saville disguises herself as a lad, as the Tailor’s apprentice, in order to feed them. She endears herself to the King and sews his clothes, but when giants and a cruel duke threaten the kingdom, Saville uses her wits and becomes a loved champion. Her secret is soon discovered, that she is a she and not a he, which does not make the people of the kingdom happy. Will she be able to save those she loves?

Spotlight on Sarah McGuire:

What was the spark of inspiration that led you to craft this retelling of The Brave Little Tailor? What were the joys and challenges of writing this story?

I was flipping through Grimm’s for a fairy tale to retell for a whole novel workshop. The Brave Little Tailor is towards the beginning of my collection of Grimm’s, and I remember thinking how I didn’t like that story and how would you change it to retell it anyway? And there was some sort of flash when I realized that the tailor could be a girl. I couldn’t get the story out of my mind after that– I kept wondering who this girl might be. Then I started telling myself that if I wrote this story, I wouldn’t have stupid giants.

And then I realized I’d spent a lot of time thinking about how I’d write this retelling if I decided to write it. Which meant, of course, that I needed to write it. 🙂

The joys? Chasing those aspects of the story that most intrigued me- this determined girl and these wondrous giants that besieged a city carved out of a cliff. There are many days where you slog through your draft, but on its best days, writing a novel is a joyful adventure into new territory.

The challenges? Getting the giants just-so, trying to capture a sense of what it what it would be like to stand beside one, setting up and weaving all the threads of the story so that everything made sense by the end. And the showdown! Don’t get me started about the showdown. There were so many characters to have in one place. I rewrote that scene a million times.

Saville is such a full and vibrant character – clever and brave, stubborn to a fault, and so full of love. I adore her and her relationships, particularly the one with Will, the young homeless boy she takes in. How did this relationship come about and how did you develop it?

I love this question! I originally created Will because the only reason that Saville would challenge two giants would be if someone was in danger. So I suppose (I’m trying to remember exactly how I found this dear boy…) I just knew he needed to be someone you couldn’t help but love. And when I found him, he became this carrier for all these moments I’d had nannying or teaching or just with my own sisters and brother. The scenes between Will and Saville were, hands down, some of the easiest and most fun to write.

Saville hates to sew, but she’s obviously very good at it. Do you have a talent that you don’t particularly embrace? If not, how about sharing with us a rare talent? (Can you whistle with a mouthful of crackers perhaps?)

I don’t feel I have so many different talents that I can afford to dismiss one– I need all the help I can get! As far as rare talents, how about the ability to make weird associations between math concepts I need to teach and random things in real life? For instance, I use Luwak coffee as an example of a composition of functions.*

*For the curious, in a composition of functions, a value, a variable, or a combination of both, is “run” through several functions. To get Luwak coffee, you have to run coffee beans through . . . well, you have to run those beans through several things as well.

Thank you, Sarah!

Sarah McGuire loves fairy tales and considers them the best way to step outside of everyday life. They’re the easiest way, at least: her attempt at seven to reach Narnia through her parents’ closet failed. She lives within sight of Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains, where she teaches high school creative writing and math classes with very interesting word problems. Valiant is her first novel.

McGuire, blog hop

For more about Sarah and her books: Check out her web site, follow her on Twitter, read her blog, and cruise on over to Goodreads.

For a chance to win a copy of this book, for yourself, a friend or child, or a library/school, just follow the directions below! Good luck!

1. Comment on this post. And for fun tell me about a “rare talent” you have. Of course now I have stumped myself. How about, I can write on a chalkboard/whiteboard with either hand.

2. Comment by midnight EST, May 2. A winner will be drawn at random and announced here on Tuesday, May 5.

3. Entrants must have a US mailing address.

Good luck and happy reading!

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Great spotlight interview, Debbi! And hearty congratulations to the talented Sarah McGuire! I’m excited for my pre-order of Valiant to arrive, but I’ll sign up for the giveaway in the hopes of donating a copy to my kids’ school!
    I don’t know how rare this ‘talent’ is, but I am told I am good at crafting perfectly worded thank-you notes. My fallback writing career will be with Hallmark. ; )

  2. Hmm, good question. I don’t think I have a lot of rare talents but I can fall asleep anywhere at any time of the day. Sometimes this can be a nuisance but I’m usually well-rested if I want to be. Valiant sounds like a lot of fun I’d be very pleased to win a copy. Thanks

Leave a Reply

