#BlackLivesMatter

Standard

art by Kalaya’an Mendoza

Standing in solidarity with my Black brothers and sisters. I want to share a few names of some amazing books I love by Black authors and illustrators you should check out. Click on the book title to purchase at bookshop.org to support independent bookstores.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Only Black Girls in Town by Brandy Colbert

Two Naomis by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich and Audrey Vernick

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America edited by Ibi Zoboi

Jada Jones series by Kelly Starling Lyons, illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Dread Nation and Deathless Divide by Justina Ireland

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds

Dyamonde Daniel series by Nikki Grimes

Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by E.B. Lewis

The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste

So Done by Paula Chase Hyman

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

New Kid by Jerry Craft

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Dream Builder: The Story of Architect Philip Freelon by Kelly Starling Lyons, illustrated by Laura Freeman

The Remarkable Story of George Moses Horton by Don Tate

This is by no means and all-inclusive list and I know I’ll kick myself later for some books I’ve neglected to mention. I commit to reading more books by Black authors and illustrators. I hope you will, too.

Please check out the Brown Bookshelf for more books and resources.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.